North America or Northern America is the northern landmass of the Americas. The third largest continent on Earth covers an area of 24.7 million km² (9.5 million sq mi) and is situated in Earth's western hemisphere. The United Nations geoscheme defines "North America" as consisting of three regions: Northern America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

The term Northern America refers to the northern portion of the continent. It includes the world's largest island Greenland and the sovereign states of Canada, the United States, and Mexico. About 498 million people live in Northern America (in 2019.)

View of the Milky Way over Echo Lake in Colorado.
Image: Max and Dee Bernt

Petit Tabac an island in St Vincent and the Grenadines in the Caribbean.
Image: _dChris

The Caribbean, sometimes also referred to as the West Indies, are the islands and archipelagos in the Caribbean Sea southeast of the United States and north of South America. The Caribbean region borders the Gulf of Mexico in the west, the Florida Straits in the north and the Northern Atlantic Ocean in the east.

The largest islands in the Caribbean are Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, and Trinidad. In 2019 an estimated 44 million people live in the Caribbean.

The term Central America refers to the land bridge between the continents of North and South America; it borders the Pacific Ocean in the southwest and the Caribbean Sea in the northeast. There are seven countries in Central America namely Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama.
In 2019 an estimated 182 million people live in Central Americas.