Swearing-in of five Secretaries and the Commissioner of Police

Bairiki, Tarawa, Dec 16, 2020:: Kiribati Head of State, His Excellency Te Beretitenti Taneti Maamau has re-instated five Secretaries along with the Commissioner of Police during the swearing-in ceremony held at the State Maneaba in Bairiki yesterday.

The Secretaries and Commissioner of Police include Mr. Ioataake Timeon the Secretary for Public Service Office (PSO), Mr. Natario Kiati the Secretary for Ministry of Line & Phoenix Island Groups (MLPID),  Mr. Toani Takirua the Secretary for Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA), Mrs. Taare Aukitino Secretary for the Ministry of Environment, Lands & Agricultural Development (MELAD) and Mrs. Bwakura Metutera for the Ministry of Education and Commissioner of Police Mr Ioeru Tokantetaake.

During the ceremony, the reinstated Secretaries and Commissioner of Police took oaths to continue their work for the Government and to the people of Kiribati to the best of their abilities.  The Secretaries and Commissioner of Police will resume duty today Wednesday 16th December 2020 at their previous respective Ministries.

Beretitenti Taneti Maamau during his congratulatory speech, acknowledged with appreciation the outstanding work done by the Secretaries as well as the Police Commissioner during their time in office.  His Excellency Taneti Maamau encouraged them to continue to strive to do their best for the Government and the people of Kiribati in achieving the goals of our long-term plan the Kiribati Vision for 20 years.